Jesusgirlz

Girls who love Jesus and want to encourage each other as they grow closer to Him.

Are you BROKEN?

on September 9, 2013

I am going to preface this by saying God actually laid this on my heart to share about a week ago and I didn’t do it. As you can read on the prayer requests and struggles I have had some things God has been dealing with me on but I also was just avoiding the blog in shameful and utter disobedience. We all have those moments when you go back and forth about wether or not what you are/aren’t doing something God does/doesn’t want you to do. Well, I have known that God has been wanting me to do this blog but I have been avoiding it. However, this is really neat the way God revealed this to me and you may have seen this somewhere else but here we go….

Broken by Webster’s definition is having been fractured or damaged and no longer in one piece or working order; (of a person) having given up all hope; despairing. Synonyms being defeated, beaten, subdued.

I was walking on the treadmill when God brought this to mind; BROKEN: Being Reduced to Our Knees Everyday and Night

You see we often think of our initial encounter with Jesus, being broken before Him to accept salvation. At least that is what I think of when I think of being broken. I think of that moment on that bunk bed at camp after God spoke to me through a great message and Him shattering my prideful, arrogant, and mean heart and saying you need Me. You are drowning in your own darkness you need me and I was completely broken in that moment and I knew I needed Him to save me. What occurred to me as I continued on my walk is the place we need to be every time we come before Jesus is BROKEN. Not necessarily in total despair but total dependance. We often think we are broken at that initial meeting and thats it we’re good, no more of that for us, but the truth is we should remain in that position allowing God to mold us back into the creation He intended for us to be. A lot of us have that broken moment with Jesus and we let Him put back together some of the pieces but then we do the rest, that part we think we have under control, and God doesn’t need to waste His time doing something you can do. What He revealed to me though was that initial moment where we are broken and meet Jesus is just the crack in the surface of what He wants to do in us and through us. Notice the acronym again… Being Reduced to Our Knees Everyday & Night….. Often we come before God and we are not humble, we think we have things in control and we are just telling Him things to keep Him in the loop…while this may not be our intent, the next time you pray really think about how you are approaching God. Are you in awe of His presence, do you know that His way is better than your way, are you confessing your sins before Him, are you Praising Him, are you Thanking Him for all He is doing in your life… What is your presence when you come before him? Are you standing tall and proud and saying look Lord at what I have done for you today? …. Again, are you Broken? Do you come before Him humbly knowing the only reason you are still here is because He has a purpose for you and you know that you cannot fulfill that purpose without Him? And are you coming before Him this way everyday and every night? These aren’t just questions for you these were/are questions God was asking me…. Am I BROKEN? Am I in realization of my need for utter dependance on Him everyday and every night? Am I allowing him to break away the hardness of my heart and put me back together to be who He intended me to be? Sadly, this past week I think I fought that hammer hard…but it is a new day and today I am saying come and break me Lord, shatter me, that I may be reduced to my knees every day and every night and mold me back into who you want me to be.

Isaiah 64:8 Yet, O Lord, you are our Father, We are the clay, you are the potter, we are all the work of your hand. (This is Isreal talking to God, What we should be saying to God!)

Proverbs 11:2 When Pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom.

Matthew 11:28-30 Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

He wants us to come to Him broken because He wants us to give Him all of our burdens and becauseHe has already paid the price for them.


Leave a comment